I am taking part in the 2014 April A-Z Challenge where you post the alphabet every day for 26 days (you get Sundays off for good behaviour) It is about visiting other blogs and forming friendships by leaving meaningful comments.

My idea is to post a flower or plant for every letter of the alphabet. It may be a common name or its Latin name or even a colour, but I am going to try to find you a picture for every letter. Will I manage to succeed? Well I shall give it a good try, and I hope you will keep visiting my blog to see what I have each day.

Colchicum autumnale, commonly known as autumn crocus, meadow saffron or naked lady, is a flower that resembles the true crocus, but blooms in autumn.

A = autumn crocus

A

34 thoughts on “A is for Autumn Crocus

    1. These are bigger than the spring ones too so are very impressive, though spring ones en masse are beautiful. I don’t think I have seen any this spring. Maybe I have missed them.

      Like

    1. He’s not is he! These are AUTUMN crocus though Sharon – needed something for A, but this does seem to have caused confusion. Should have gone for aconites 🙂

      Like

  1. What a lovely shade of blue! Looking forward to more such posts of colours, beauty and information. Happy A-Zing 😉

    Like

  2. Wow/ beautiful flowers and informative blog. I’ll enjoy following this blog. I love flowers but I do not have a green thumb. More like black. And yet I often have flowers in my stories and I actually go to the flower shop downtown to pick something out by looks, then I do a little research on it to make sure I don’t having it growing out of season in one of my stories. Love your blog.
    Best,
    Deb@ http://debioneille.blogspot.com

    Like

    1. Hi Tonja, yes these are all my own work. I really need a better camera for macro shots, but I do my best. Hope you’ll continue to enjoy my flowers. 🙂

      Like

  3. Beautiful photograph! Crocuses are among my favorites. Do you take the pictures yourself? Also, I’m curious — why did you decide to center your blog around flowers? I’m certainly not complaining, but I’ve never come across anything like your blog before.

    Like

    1. Nice to see you and thanks for your comment. Yes I do take the photos myself, I am a passionate gardener without a garden at the moment (you can read all about it under About) which is why I created the flower blog – so I get my fill of flowers and gardens throughout the year. I do have a wordier blog on Travel Words which is very different. http://smallbluegreenwords.wordpress.com/
      There are not many garden blogs on the A to Z challenge I must admit 😀
      Jude xx

      Like

      1. No, not many! I find it a lovely change. I actually work in a nursery, so I’m surrounded by flowers and other greenery eight hours a day. I love it, though I do lack some motivation to tend my own flowers when I’ve been gardening all day. 😀

        Like

  4. what lovely flowers, the type I would enjoy painting. I am about as green as a gardener as chewing gum is a roast dinner but I do appreciate the wonderful work gardeners do. 🙂 I look forward to seeing more of your lovely flower pictures

    Like

    1. Thanks Cecilia – I’d love to be able to paint these flowers, sadly that’s not my talent. Although I have created some watercolours in Photoshop! I know, it’s not quite the same 🙂

      Like

      1. you garden and I shall paint and then we stay true to our talents 🙂 with occasional dabbling in the other.

        Like

  5. Gorgeous Crocus! And really interesting that they come up in the fall! I look forward to popping back in here to see what other beauties you have!! 🙂

    Like

Likes are nice, but comments spark a conversation...

