G is for Gazania

Gazania can be annuals or evergreen perennials, of spreading habit, with lobed lance-shaped leaves and showy daisy-like composite flowers in brilliant shades of yellow and orange, over a long period in summer which close in dull weather. Gazania is a genus of flowering plants in the family Asteraceae, native to Southern Africa.

A perennial in its native South Africa, gazania seldom survives a British winter, needing to be planted anew each spring. Also known as the Treasure Flower.  Please scroll through the images.

G

19 thoughts on “G is for Gazania

  1. I love, love, love these little beauties. They are one of the few flowers that don’t wilt in the hot Colorado afternoon sun. Unfortuantely they don’t winter-over here, but they sure keep the flower beds perky.

    Like

  2. My son’s favorite color is orange and every year each of my kids gets to pick out their own plant or flower to have and take care of for the summer. He always has a hard time finding something he really likes (he’s done marigolds too many times!). He would love this!! We’ll have to look around and see if it would do well here.
    Gorgeous flower!

    Like

    1. I miss a garden too – the main reason why I need to find a house. We have been living in a flat (5 years) and now a rental with only a tiny front patio (almost 3 years) and I love gardening!! Containers are OK but there is only so much you can do with them. And I want a dog and cats and maybe chickens… I need to grow roots before it’s too late!

      Like

      1. Other people’s gardens! National Trust and private gardens all over the world. Wherever I go I look for a garden to visit! There is the odd one from my own very small collection 🙂

        Like

    2. My flowers are scattered too, but I have been working on collating them – trouble is I then forget which ones I have edited! I really need to organize them properly. It is very time consuming though.

      I should be OK for the rest of the alphabet, though X is a bit of a worry!

      Like

      1. How about Xeranthemum? It’s a type of aster. It must be very time consuming. I started and never finished my flower and floristry folders. Maybe one day when I’m old(er). 😮

        Like

Likes are nice, but comments spark a conversation...

