Zinnia is a genus of 20 species of annual and perennial plants of the family Asteraceae. They are native to scrub and dry grassland in an area stretching from the Southwestern United States to South America, with a centre of diversity in Mexico. Wikipedia

Zinnia can be annuals, perennials or sub-shrubs, with branching stems bearing opposite leaves and solitary terminal flower-heads in summer. They can be grown in City/Courtyard Gardens, Cottage/Informal Garden, Flower borders and beds, Garden Edging or Patio/Container Plants.

z - zinnia 3

They neeed to be planted in an open space as they can suffer from mildew, and they love sun and heat. Don’t let them dry out though. There’s no better late-summer plant, with a brilliant range of colours and flowers that look as though they’ve been cut from velvet-coated cardboard.

Z

 

And so we come to the end of the April A to Z Challenge. I hope that you have enjoyed looking at a variety of flowers and plants during this month and that you have found something that you might like to grow in your garden that you haven’t tried before. I thank you for accompanying me on this journey and for all your likes and comments. It has been great to meet new bloggers and I have enjoyed visiting many different blogs this month.

It’s difficult for me to pick a favourite as I just love flowers and each and every one has a special place, including those I have had to leave out. But for those of you who have joined me on this challenge I really would like to know which was YOUR favourite from the ones I posted.

I hope new and old friends will continue to drop in and see what’s happening on here. New gardens to visit and old favourites to feature. And, as always, your comments are what makes it all worthwhile 🙂

27 thoughts on “Z is for Zinnia

  1. So beautiful flowers, Jude, where have you taken the last photo? Wow, you made it to the end, well done!! 🙂 We’ll have to come back and answer your question as we obviously have missed a few entries during our travels. We’ll be back soon!
    Big hug and warm greetings to you from sunny but not quite so warm Norway anymore, brrr….
    Dina, Siri and Selma xxx ooo

    Like

    1. I believe the last photo was taken in the walled garden at Osborne House on the IOW. Sorry to hear the weather has turned chilly, it is very warm and sunny in London! Feet very tired and sore 😉

      Like

      1. There wasn’t much in the gardens when we were in Heligan last week, they do have great glasshouses though. I got more water lilies in Kew on Tuesday, shall have to post them on return. I have enough fowers for at least another year!

        Like

  2. Oh, Jude, i cannot pick a favorite – the photos, the colors, the settings, the luscious Latin names – can I just say You are one of my favorite flowers?!? So glad we met!

    Like

    1. Zappy and Zazzy they really are! Thanks so much for entertaining me during this challenge. I shall come visit you shortly – haven’t had great connection for the last couple of weeks so blog hopping has been dificult. Hope all is well with you and the family 🙂

      Like

    1. They are such colourful flowers I don’t know why I have never grown them. I shall see whether they look OK in a container if I see any in the market.

      Like

      1. I’ll have to plant them in a container for my part of our communal gardens but I’m thinking that a big rectangular planter will suit them ok. There were lots planted in pots and other containers in Greece last year!

        Like

  3. I have enjoyed all the luscious flowers and plants you have featured, picking a favorite is difficult because they are all so interesting and beautiful in their own way. I do always favor the Iris though! 🙂 Wonderful A-Z, I’m so glad that I found this blog and will be stopping back in! 🙂

    Like

    1. Irises are up there with me too (my mother’s name) and I captured a few more this week at Kew Gardens, even some delightful little ones in the rock garden. Thanks for visiting me and commenting Laine, much appreciated 🙂

      Like

Likes are nice, but comments spark a conversation...

