Flowers in Australia: 7

Scarlet Pimpernel / Anagallis arvensis

orange low flowers

 

Scarlet pimpernel is also known as red pimpernel, red chickweed, poor man’s barometer, poor man’s weather-glass, shepherd’s weather glass or shepherd’s clock. A. arvensis is now naturalised almost worldwide, with a range that encompasses the Americas, Central and East Asia, the Indian Subcontinent, Malesia, the Pacific Islands, Australasia and Southern Africa.

Thanks to Meg and Gilly for identifying this one.

13 thoughts on “Flowers in Australia: 7

    1. I think you are right Meg, I just didn’t expect them to be growing so high up from the shore. I didn’t walk up to the North Head, thank goodness as it was far too hot that day. I think I am going to struggle doing much walking in this heat. I had thought that it would be cooler in your springtime. This feels like midsummer to me! God help you all in Jan/Feb!

      Like

    1. I thought it looked like the flowers I posted from Rye Harbour, but these were growing right at the top of the headland and I thought they were found more on the shoreline. But yes, I think you and Meg are right.

      Like

    1. You’re cooking? I’m melting!
      Went out today, slathered in suncream (which always makes me feel sticky) to climb up to the Barrenjoey lighthouse – mainly for the views. Boy was I hot! I thought these sort of temps were in Jan/Feb. At least there was a breeze 🙂

      Like

      1. It is certainly hotter than normal. I’m sort of dreading what Jan/Feb might bring. I think I will be looking at a house sit some where cooler. Hoping we have a storm tonight or tomorrow, we need that rain.

        Like

Likes are nice, but comments spark a conversation...

