Poor Knight’s Lily

My first post of the year and my 400th post on this blog. I’m not sure how many more flowers and gardens I can possibly find to blog about, but I shall try my best to find some.

Poor Knights Lily (3)

The Poor Knights Lily, or Raupo Taranga, Xeronema, is one of New Zealand’s finest flowering plants and ranks as one of the best horticultural subjects. When in flower it produces an amazing flower stalk with a stunning bottlebrush red flower.


Unfortunately I was too late to catch it in flower, but the seed head left behind is both structurally and texturally interesting.

17 thoughts on “Poor Knight’s Lily

    1. I like photographing seed heads though didn’t get much opportunity at the end of the year – WHEN it stops raining I may head out with the camera and see if there is anything happening around here.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I sure, like many of us bloggers, when you run out of flowers and gardens your blog will transition into another area you enjoy. When I look back through my posts, it has become very eclectic. Time to branch out (pun intended) in 2015!

    Like

    1. Haha! Thank you Patrick. I already have an eclectic blog over on Travel Words, maybe this one will simply become a part of that over time. Have a good 2015!

      Like

    1. I’m sorry I missed the flowers, they do look very impressive. And you are right, I shall go hunting for more gardens once it is spring. Or even some snowdrops if it stops raining!

      Like

  2. I’ve been wondering at your capacity to keep finding gardens. I thought your supply was endless. This flower is beautiful and podding is beautiful too.

    You’re doing a great job of selling NZ. It’s so close. Why haven’t I been there? Nearly did once, but I went to Egypt instead.

    Like

    1. Oh, I really want to explore NZ more, health and wealth willing! But in the meantime I will hunt down some more gardens near me – although they won’t be open until the spring. You really must go over to NZ – it’s only a 3 hour flight too 🙂

      Like

Likes are nice, but comments spark a conversation...

