Stony Range Regional Botanical Garden is an oasis of Australian native plants and located at Dee Why in the heart of the northern beaches, Sydney. It is a perfect place to take a walk through a variety of microclimates and to enjoy the shade of the many trees in Sydney’s intense heat. The main circuit only takes around 20 minutes to complete and includes a sensory track and a rainforest gully.

DSCF5246

Native plants from all over Australia have been planted in the garden which is located on Hawkesbury sandstone escarpment – hence the name Stony Range. It is a home to a host of wildlife including brush turkeys, brushtailed and ringtailed possums, owls, rainbow lorikeets, lizards and native bees.

On a hot and humid day the garden provides a delightfully shady place to walk and also learn about the use of some of the native plants and trees. For instance gum trees have several uses: their wood was used for implements such as shields and bowls; the nectar of the flowers made a sweet drink; the gum was used for relieving toothache and when boiled in water has good antiseptic properties for burns and stomach upsets.

DSCF5293

The stiff leaves of the Grass Trees (Xanthorrhoea) below, next to aΒ Eucalyptus, is a very useful plant too. The dried flower stems were used for fishing spears and fire making, the resin for glue, flowers for nectar and leaves for weaving or making twine.

An impressive Platycerium superbum/ Stag Horn fern (or sometimes known as elk horn) is found outside the entrance to the garden attached to a large red Gum (Angophera costata). A magnificent plant.

DSCF5215

More lovely walks can be found over at my friendΒ Jo’s place.

39 thoughts on “Oasis in the Suburbs

  1. This is another place to add to our list for the next time we’re in Sydney. Our daughter tells us that when she is finished travelling the world she will live in Sydney again so hopefully we will have a reason to visit again one day.

    Like

    1. I like Sydney but it is VERY expensive to live there. My next visit to Aus will be to Perth as eldest son and family are moving there at the end of next month. Well, supposed to be!!

      Like

      1. We live in Queensland so more than a day’s drive to Sydney and a five hour flight to Perth. You’re right, there is lots to see. When I’m finished writing about our trip to Japan, I’m planning a series of “stay-cation” stories, all about places close to home!

        Like

      2. I shall look forward to those. I love exploring the UK now though there was a time when I couldn’t wait to get away. So you must be near to Pommepal (though I know Queensland is a BIG state)

        Like

  2. Lovely textures and colours, Jude! I really like that Stag Horn fern πŸ™‚ MUST start experimenting with colour and processing. How many times have I said that? My posts are starting to look a bit samey.

    Perth, huh? Have you been there before? Another adventure awaits! I seem to remember you’re going somewhere exciting this year but I can’t remember where. Stateside?

    Thanks for the walk πŸ™‚

    Like

    1. I think I may reblog/ move some of these posts onto the Travel Words and see how they go down on there. I don’t get a lot of traffic here which is a shame as I put in just as much work on the photos and information. I might go back to just posting single flowers here as was my original plan.

      I have visited Perth, but only briefly so I’d love to go back there and explore. No plans this year at all!! Apart from finding that elusive house!! Now WHERE is it?

      Liked by 1 person

  3. You do find some amazing places Jude. This is a beauty. Is it easy to get too? Did that bush turkey have a nest mound. They have a fascinating sex life with the male doing all the baby duties.
    You will LOVE WA so much to see around the southern corner below Perth and easy to get to, not to mention the wild flowers if you go at the right time.

    Like

    1. My son didn’t know it was there either! And he lives only a couple of blocks away. Yes, we saw the nest mound, I think my youngest son must be a bush turkey, he is loving caring for his new daughter – he’d probably feed her if he could!

      Like

    1. I am trying to mix up the photos a bit so glad you like the circles. I think this is probably my last Antipodean post – hope it brought back good memories. And I hope there are some gardens near here that open soon!

      Like

      1. Yes, I thought there were parts that might be more tropical, but always thought of it as more hot and dry. Seems everywhere is getting hotter these days… Also wanted to say, really sorry I didn’t get my B&W bench photo out in time, I had to get my challenge post out and that was a day late (I don’t usually post at the weekends as you know). But I will include it in the 5 day challenge starting next week as you suggested, and then start fresh with March’s theme. Coastal views I think? Will have to take a look πŸ˜‰

        Like

Likes are nice, but comments spark a conversation...

