Fuchsia is a dancer…

fuchsia
Dancing fuchsias

Fuchsia is a dancer
Dancing on her toes,
Clad in red and purple,
By a cottage wall;
Sometimes in a greenhouse,
In frilly white and rose,
Dressed in her best for the fairies’
evening ball!

From: A Flower Fairy Alphabet, Β by Cicely Mary Barker

Nalinki at Angles and Views has started #flowersoverflowers where we can share our favourite blossoms of the week. It seems like a good idea to spread some blooms across the Internet. I am more than happy to join in.

24 thoughts on “Fuchsia is a dancer…

  1. Great poem; so apt for fuschia twinkle toes! I remember riding the narrow Irish roads between claustrophobic hedges, and it was the profusion of girgeous fuschia that distracted me from my closed-in anxiety.

    Like

    1. I have quite a few different ones, several survived the winter outdoors even though they are not fully hardy. I love the pale dainty ones too, but they are almost impossible to photograph.

      Like

    1. Trying out the new camera Meg! Went to photograph some colourful benches I noticed in a pub courtyard and en route to the church (to try out the camera indoors) I saw these beauties. Church posts coming soon.

      Like

  2. I thought the sight had driven you to poetry again, Jude! Darn! This is another challenge that I said I’d join in with and haven’t got there. I need to know how you organise your days. I don’t seem to have much control over mine πŸ™‚ I digress! Lovely photo πŸ™‚
    Happy travels for tomorrow! Hoping you get enough nice weather to get out and about and keeping my fingers crossed on the home front. Sending hugs πŸ™‚

    Like

    1. I was going to write my own poem then found this and thought, that’s just right! Travels tomorrow so M25 behave yourself! Today I am going to make a start on OH’s tax return. Been putting it off, but it could get busy in September πŸ˜€

      Like

    1. I have only ever had a problem with one fuchsia and that was planted on the north side (south for you) of my house in very poor sandy dry soil. After 3 years of it not doing much in the way of growth or flowers I moved it away from the house wall and only about a foot away, and threatened it with the compost heap if it didn’t flower. I ended up with an enormous shrub that flowered from spring to Christmas! I took loads of cuttings from that plant too πŸ™‚

      Like

  3. Lovely little ballerinas, I love them and one of Jack’s favourites. He used to take cuttings from bits hanging over neighbours fences and we had lots of them in NZ but sadly I cannot grow them here, so thank you for this lovely photo. Your new camera is doing very well.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Cortisone injections are not pleasant, but I hope it works. Sounds as though his shoulder is very sore. I suffer from Achilles tendonitis and that can be agony if I walk too far and for too long. I wish him well.

      Like

      1. Yes, he needs to rest it and not put any strain on it, otherwise he’ll cause further damage. So no painting ceilings for a while πŸ˜€

        Like

Likes are nice, but comments spark a conversation...

