I mentioned the walled garden, which is near the mansion house, on my recent walk in Berrington Hall’s parkland . This walled garden has been transformed over the last few years and at this time of year is full of vibrant colour as well as a heavily laden orchard.

Step inside

Pathway with perennial borders

Behind the potting shed is a productive potager (an ornamental vegetable or kitchen garden), interspersed with annuals such as sweet-peas, marigolds, nasturtiums, everlastings and nicotiana. Often flowers (edible and non-edible) and herbs are planted with the vegetables to enhance the garden’s beauty.

In the Vegetable Garden, a fragrant tunnel of sweet-peas

I always find strolling around a garden makes me happy. The glory of nature combined with the skills of the gardener helps to calm me down when life and its curve-balls come crashing my way. It’s been a bit like that lately.

Sweet Peas
Sweet Peas
36 thoughts on “Garden Portrait: Berrington Hall Walled Garden

  1. Just delightful Jude – such beautiful autumn colours and fruits. In fact I’m supposed to be out in the garden now getting rid of some of the weeds that sprouted up over winter (long gone now it’s been very warm recently)! Alas my garden doesn’t look like this one though. However I can enjoy your lovely photos 🙂

    Like

    1. I do think this theme loads slowly, you get that blue bar across the top and then it loads, I don’t use headers on most of my posts except for these garden portraits and I still keep the files very small, so it must be the theme.

      Like

      1. Yes, that usually happens but then it just went black. Tried 4 browsers, then succeeded – then got an error message on everything including my own. I suspect you’re right, they are working on “improvements”.

        Like

        1. Yes, it does look very good. I think it’s just the image-heavy home page that makes it slow. There are one or two blogs with another theme that I have to save up to read on a PC as iPad/phone can’t cope.

          Liked by 1 person

  2. It sounds a bit like you need a hug, as well as a wander in a garden? 🙂 This is a lovely one and you’ve picked out the plants so beautifully. Let’s go and find a bench and have a chat! (I know- you had the tea shop in mind 🙂 )

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I was happy to discover flowers here as last year I was very disappointed at how little they had planted. Like many NT places they are working on restoring the old walled gardens and growing produce to use in their café. An excellent idea.

      Like

Likes are nice, but comments spark a conversation...

