Welcome to the first month of the Garden Photo Challenge. This challenge is designed to challenge ourselves with the type of photos we take in and around a garden, to focus on things we might not notice, to consider different angles and to take time to frame and compose an image so that every photo is one you will want to keep. Many of the monthly themes are quite broad, leaving the subject up to you, the photographer. I may offer some suggestions, but that doesn’t mean you have to follow them. I think that digital photography has made me lazy, I click at everything and then end up with hundreds of photos that never see the light of day again. I mean who really needs fifty shots of the same leaf? No, this year I intend to slow down, take less, but create more and I hope that some of you will join me. You can use images from the archives (I have with some of mine for January), but if possible I will try to take new ones as the year progresses, if only to improve my techniques. Anyway, enough waffle, let’s get on with the challenge…

In January I’m looking for a Winter Garden

(This month I want to see photos and stories about winter gardens. You can interpret this any way you want; a garden in winter, winter flowers, or plants in a glasshouse)

January can be a dim moment before the snowdrops get going. In the dark days of winter, the scented flowers of witch hazel are utterly beguiling. ‘Orange Peel’ is an early variety, which smells of marmalade.

P1290851

Hamamelis is better known as witch hazel. E A Bowles, the famous early 20th-century gardener, called it the Epiphany tree because that is when it is usually out (i.e. January 6), with flowers of gold and scent of frankincense.

If you would like to join in with Garden Photography then please take a look at my Garden Photography Page. No complicated rules 🙂

  • Create your own post and title it JanuaryWinter Gardens
  • Include a link to this page in your post so others can find it too
  • Add the tag “GardenChallenge” so everyone can find the posts easily in the WP Reader
  • Get your post in by the end of the month, as the new theme comes out on the first Sunday in February.
  • And please visit the sites linked in the comments to see what others are posting. I won’t be doing a ‘pick of the week’ as I did with the bench challenge as it can become quite time consuming and I have a feeling that this year is going to be a busy one for me!
122 thoughts on “garden photography: orange peel

Likes are nice, but comments spark a conversation...

