In January I’m looking for a Winter Garden

(This month I want to see photos and stories about winter gardens. You can interpret this any way you want; a garden in winter, winter flowers, or plants in a glasshouse)

DSCF9583

The Auckland Domain Winter Garden complex in Auckland, New Zealand, is a national treasure. It was designed in the early 1900s in the style of the famous English partnership of Edwin Lutyens and Gertrude Jekyll and opened in 1913. Rare and spectacular plants in an ever-changing display can be seen in each of the two barrel-vaulted Victorian style glass houses which face out on to an extensive courtyard and sunken pool. One glasshouse contains temperate plants and is not heated and the other contains tropical plants and heated to 28°C. It is free to enter and a lovely place to visit on a chilly winter’s day.

If you would like to join in with Garden Photography then please take a look at my Garden Photography Page. No complicated rules 🙂

  • Create your own post and title it JanuaryWinter Gardens
  • Include a link to this page in your post so others can find it too
  • Add the tag “GardenChallenge” so everyone can find the posts easily in the WP Reader
  • Get your post in by the end of the month, as the new theme comes out on the first Sunday in February.
  • Please visit the sites in the comments to see what others are posting.
70 thoughts on “garden photography: winter garden

  1. So you have! 🙂 Wasn’t anybody else fooled? No- don’t answer that 🙂 🙂
    Is this incentive for Meg? 🙂 Kew Gardens et al… there are some fabulous glasshouses around the world. Now, if you could get a commission to go and see them all, I’d be your secretary, Jude! But not a very good one 😦

    Like

  2. You’ve really put this whinging southern hemispherean objecting to a winter theme in summer in their place by featuring Auckland! And a lovely featuring it is too: glasshouse, statues, waterlilies and knowledgeable commentary.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. You can’t possibly have posted every photo in your archives, can you? And anyway, people never look at older stuff so sometimes it is nice to post an older one / photo again. Don’t reblog, simply rework an old post 🙂

        Like

    1. As I probably haven’t seen ALL your previous posts (and neither will others), I don’t mind at all. I miss my garden visits at this time of year as so many are closed until Easter. Parkland is fine for a stroll, but doesn’t feed the flower bug in me!

      Like

    1. I love the style of these old ones, but I do have a new one later in the month to show you. Fabulous places to visit in winter or when the weather is inclement.

      Like

      1. Not often we have inclement weather of the wet kind Jude, only hot and sticky, as today, so I’m indoors with the fan on enjoying “chatting” with blogging buddies…

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Many thanks. And all glasshouses are similar though some are better than others and this one is excellent, in both houses. I found Kew’s Palm house a bit boring, the others much more interesting.Is the one in the Sydney Botanical Garden open yet? It was being refurbished when I was there.

      Like

      1. I have never been there, Long back in school while reading Mills and Boons 🙂 there was a writer , Essie Summers, All her stories are set in New Zealand. Seeing New Zealand has been a dream, maybe I will get to see it. Regards.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Beautiful. Sorry I didn’t make January’s challenge Jude…I am on the back hoof as you know, but I am getting my book written! Will join in as I can, I really enjoy it and also the Weekly Photo Challenges. HIt and miss for me for a while I think 😉 xx

    Liked by 1 person

Likes are nice, but comments spark a conversation...

