In February I am looking for Monochrome

(black and white or tones of one colour. Look for texture, shape and patterns. The subject matter is entirely up to you, but should be loosely garden related.)

DSCF9659

Finding a strong shape is one of the criterion for what could be an interesting black and white conversion, but also consider the background. You want something that enables that shape to stand out and be noticed. In this particular example I was struck by the contrast of the sharp spiky yucca leaves against the circular leaded windows above. The perimeter of those leaves echo the circular shape which may have been an unconscious perception that led to the composition of this image. I also used a slight pencil sketch effect to add texture to the image.

If you would like to join in with Garden Photography then please take a look at my Garden Photography Page. No complicated rules 🙂

  • Create your own post and title it FebruaryMonochrome
  • Include a link to this page in your post so others can find it too
  • Add the tag “GardenChallenge” so everyone can find the posts easily in the WP Reader
  • Get your post in by the end of the month, as the new theme comes out on the first Sunday in March.
  • Please visit the sites linked in the comments to see what others are posting.
52 thoughts on “garden photography: monochrome

  1. Yes- good shape! 🙂 I need to get a wiggle on if I’m going Monochrome but I’m sorry to say that I haven’t yet given it a serious thought. 😦 But then, you’re fulla-busy so you won’t even notice my absence. I bet that bed of yours feels good nowadays! 🙂 Got that date settled? Sending hugs (in lieu of a post 🙂 )

    Like

    1. Oh, that’s a good excuse! I thought you’d be more than happy to have another play! And yes, I have noticed your absence… in spite of spending more time with my nose in a box rather than on the computer. But thanks for the hugs 🙂

      Like

      1. Got a link to a site you will appreciate very much- Meg too- from which I am gleaning information for tomorrow’s walk. Not a sunny one, but there’s cake 🙂

        Like

    1. Effects depend greatly on the subject. I find the poster edges works very well on flowers as it brings out all the details, but not on landscapes. This looks good on an architectural image. Over to see your Cotehele in a while 🙂

      Like

  2. Beautiful contrasting shapes: circles and spikes and very gracious composition. The frame and the textured background are perfect.

    (I’ve just posted a contribution, disobeying all the rules I read too late. I did link it though.)

    Liked by 2 people

  3. I always admire monochrome, but never think to experiment and practice! I think it’s probably very true that elements with strong “features” are the better subjects. I plan to jump back into the challenge in March and join in with the wildlife! And by the way, your photo is beautiful framed in the thick black outline.

    Like

    1. I know! Some people put in a link to my post (resulting in a pingback) and also add a link in a comment. But some people just link in the comment and others link in the post. I just check all of them in case I miss something 😀

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thanks, Jude, I understand that. I was referring more to the fact that you have made three posts to which people are linking, rather than everyone linking to the original post for the month.

        Like

    2. Ah, I see what you mean. Well I aim to post an image each week so I guess people post links to my most recent one. I did make the first one of the month a sticky (so it appears first on the home page) and maybe I should do that again. I think most people link to the latest post though so hopefully you don’t miss any of the entries.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I’m new here and found myself curious about monochrome garden photos. I normally feel that b/w adds mystery and character to buildings and landscape, I couldn’t believe it could do the same for flowers – you happily surprised me! Goes to prove – you’re never too old to learn.

    Like

    1. Hi GP. Nice to see you here – I often read your comments on Pete and Ollie’s blog. I’m not hugely fond of flowers in black and white as the colour is often the draw, but some (like succulents and cacti in particular) transform very well. I guess you just have to experiment and see how you feel about an image.

      Liked by 1 person

Likes are nice, but comments spark a conversation...

