In April I’m looking for Macros or Close-ups in the Garden

(This month I want to see Macro photography or close-ups of anything you’d find in a garden –  so look out for unusual details) If you would like some tips then please visit the first post of the month.

hairy-4
Click to enlarge

I spotted this little chap hanging onto some debris as I was clearing a part of the garden yesterday (yes I know I should be unpacking still, but it was too nice a day to stay indoors). I think he might be the “The Drinker Moth” caterpillar which would be kind of appropriate given my love of wine, but I am not 100% convinced so if you know then please tell me in a comment below.

If you would like to join in with Garden Photography then please take a look at my Garden Photography Page. No complicated rules 🙂

  • Create your own post and title it AprilMacros in the Garden
  • Include a link to this page in your post so others can find it too
  • Add the tag “GardenChallenge” so everyone can find the posts easily in the WP Reader
  • Get your post in by the end of the month, as the new theme comes out on the first Sunday in May.
  • Please visit the sites in the comments to see what others are posting.
82 thoughts on “garden photography: clutching at straws

  1. Great title, and good shots of something that looks like what we called, with taxonomic exactitude, hairy grub! Life’s too short to unpack: how’s that for an aphorism? Especially when you have a garden and it’s spring.

    Liked by 3 people

    1. I like the term ‘hairy grub’! And the aphorism 🙂 Had to clear away the winter debris, but I’m not sure what is coming up – could be flowers, could be weeds. I’m sure I shall find out – hopefully before it is too late to do anything about it 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I don’t blame you for wanting to be outdoors. It’s way more fun than unpacking. LOL!

    Stunning shots of this cutie. Looks like it enjoyed the photoshoot just as much. 😀 ♥

    Like

  3. I’ve never been at all partial to hairy grubs, but I’m pleased you found time to get outside with your camera. Just think, after all our renovations are finished, we still have all the unpacking to do. At least you’ve done some of yours. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Clouded up a bit but I’ve been indoors ironing and packing all afternoon. (the opposite of you 🙂 ) James is imminently departing for Birmingham so I’ve put the laptop on and I’m in recovery. Wine later. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

    1. I actually thought he was dead as he didn’t move until I came back to the table and found he had abandoned the straw and was making a getaway! Very small grub, only about an inch long.

      Like

      1. Sigh. Patiently. As the title suggests, he was actually clutching a straw, so I handled the straw, not him. I was taught in SA not to handle hairy caterpillars as they can cause irritation. I suspect that is not the case here. OK? Are we clear now? o_O

        Like

      2. Later! And while I’m whining- my Monday walk at Great Ayton has been cancelled and I was really looking forward to it. Have to devise my own. 😦

        Like

Likes are nice, but comments spark a conversation...

