It’s May already and here in the northern hemisphere spring is all around us which should mean a lot of wild flowers. Of course the challenge isn’t confined to the northern hemisphere, I am sure there are plenty of wild flowers / natives in the southern hemisphere too. It’s not confined to flowers that bloom in May either so look in those archives. No restrictions on how to present your flowers this month. You can use macro / close-ups, monochrome, flowers with insects or whole landscapes. And remember it can be a single image or a gallery or an entire post about wild flowers such as one I wrote about Rye Harbour.

In May I’m looking for Wild flowers

(This month I want to see native wild flowers found in the hedgerows, woodlands, farmland, meadows, by the coast, up a mountain, on the heath and even in your own garden. Basically those plants that haven’t been planted, but occur naturally, although specifically planted wild flower meadows can be included. Wild flowers provide food for humans and wildlife and are usually hardy, resilient and well adapted to the climate and soils, and yes sadly often referred to as weeds.)

Common Dog-violet; this common and widespread plant lives happily in many different habitats including woodland, grassland, heaths, hedgerows and old pasture. It flowers from April to June but its flowers are not scented, unlike those of its cousin, the Sweet Violet.

sweet-violet

Walking along parts of the south-west coastal path at this time of year provides plenty of colour along with the sea view. These pretty violets are in full bloom at the moment.

If you would like to join in with Garden Photography then please take a look at my Garden Photography Page. No complicated rules 🙂

  • Create your own post and title it MayWild Flowers
  • Include a link to this page in your post so others can find it too
  • Add the tag “GardenChallenge” so everyone can find the posts easily in the WP Reader
  • Get your post in by the end of the month, as the new theme comes out on the first Sunday in June.
  • Please visit the sites in the comments to see what others are posting.
61 thoughts on “garden photography: not so sweet violets

  1. I love violets. Have some in the garden that came from The Dad’s garden. This is the fourth garden in which I’ve planted them. Can I confirm that you’re looking for indigenous flowers? Not only, for example, would my violets not be in in flower this month, they’re not indigenous to South Africa. Aloes, though, and most of the flowers in this post (https://fionasfavourites.com/2016/02/03/shades-of-winter/), are. That wouldn’t be my entry, though, as I’ve been taking a series of photos of aloes in our garden as the buds have emerged.

    Like

    1. Hi Fiona, yes I am looking for indigenous flowers. Native plants that grow naturally in a region, plants that were not introduced by humans. Of course South Africa has many which end up being non-natives here in the UK and are some of my favourite plants. They don’t need to be in flower this month though so bring out the Proteas and Vygies 😀

      Like

      1. Great, Jude. There are some gorgeous flowers already – Tecomaria Capensis (Cape Honeysuckle), there are a few blooms on the plumbago and the aloes’ buds are turning from green to orange, so I’m spoilt for choice! Was planning to write a bit about the garden, so this is a great spur, thank you.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. 😛 we’ll see. I was thinking about one, but perhaps not. Tomorrow’s post, working on it now, is about chilli jam…. Have a good week!

        Liked by 1 person

    2. Those flowers are lovely! Although I am not so keen on dyed flowers. I prefer mine to come natural. I shall look forward to seeing your aloes 🙂

      Like

      1. I’m not keen on the dyed ones, either. Actually, we have enough glorious colour to make it unnecessary. No accounting for taste and what sells, though!

        Like

  2. I was tripping along beside a Polish lake this morning when I spotted something small and purple in the grass. I instantly thought of you and went click but I have no idea if it’s a decent shot. Been visiting all day. It’s exhausting being social! Have a happy Cornish week Jude xx

    Like

    1. I have to say that a few days with family is enough for me. I actually like my own space and doing my own thing. Weather due to improve over the week so I am hoping to visit a garden or two. And get some seeds sown 🙂

      Like

      1. Prise away! I’m sure they won’t mind a day or two without you and you must all feel quite exhausted with the language constraints or do your family speak good English? How’s your Dad?

        Like

      2. I can’t begin to tell you on here Jude! I’m staying with a lovely cousin whose English is like my Polish. We have much in common but communication is hard and she has a lot to do for her family and works too.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. I’m pretty sure when we went to Hawaii, my friend Carol, the Eternal Traveler, took lots of pictures with your contest in mind! And voila, there she is in your comment section. I’m going to have to follow this blog. Who doesn’t love wild flowers? 🙂

    Like

  4. Oh Jude, you would think I could manage to get a post out this month for wildflowers? I hope so…I haven’t been able to do any challenges! My poor blog 😦 But I am working hard on my memoir, so that’s one good thing at least. Lovely pics of beautiful violets. I have some growing in my garden. Will try to keep up… 🙂 xx

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Thanks Jude…I do love to pop in and say hi when I can…your posts always make me smile. Have a wonderful weekend enjoying our gorgeous weather by the sea 🙂 xx

        Liked by 1 person

Likes are nice, but comments spark a conversation...

