This month Polianthus is looking for fountains featuring people or animals. This interesting looking black swan basilisk dragon / scultone* was captured in the Carouge district of Geneva. Such a fabulous place for spotting artistic fountains!

3-May-carouge-(4)

Carouge had been a separate entity from Geneva until 1816. Most of the buildings in Carouge were designed by architects from Turin, as commissioned by the King of Sardinia at the time which may account for the feeling I had of being in Italy.

*A sort of dragon basilisk in Sardinia, Italy. The Scultone lived in bushlands and was immortal. It was known to have the power to kill human beings with its gaze

if you’d like to join in with the fountain challenge then please pop over to Polianthus for the rules. I’m sure she would love to see you.

39 thoughts on “Friday Fountain Challenge: May

  1. Jude I think you may have found one of the most unique fountains on the planet. I’m not sure I would want to run my hand under the water of the beast spewing away but what an eye catcher!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ah, hope you both had a great day. I’m sure you will get on like a house on fire though I have a feeling Jo would wear me out, she has so much energy!! And as you know I like to stroll…slowly.

      Like

      1. We walked the length of the main street at a very leisurely pace, ate a leisurely lunch, and conducted a galloping conversation – in English, hallelujah!!

        Like

  2. Handsome beastie Jude! Guess what me and Meg found in Lodz today? I was so challenged by the process of getting there I forgot to be nervous. What a lovely lady and a fabulous day xxx

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I had a closer look at this fountain and wonder if it is really a stylised swan. It looks more like some mythical dragon. Beautiful nevertheless.

        Like

    1. I wonder if it is a product of the Sardinian heritage? Apparently a dragon named “scultone” or “ascultone” appears in legends in Sardinia, Italy. It had the power to kill human beings with its gaze.

      Liked by 1 person

Likes are nice, but comments spark a conversation...

