The Robba Fountain (Slovene: Robbov vodnjak), since the first half of the 20th century also known as the Fountain of the Three Carniolan Rivers (Vodnjak treh kranjskih rek), is the fountain that stands in front of Ljubljana Town Hall at Town Square in Ljubljana, the capital of Slovenia. It was originally made in 1751 by the Italian sculptor Francesco Robba and is one of the city’s most recognisable symbols.

fountain-of-three-carniolan-rivers-(1)

The fountain consists of three male figures with jugs, which came several years after the fountain’s creation to supposedly represent the gods of the three rivers of Carniola: the Ljubljanica, Sava and Krka, and later as well the three territorial units of Carniola: Upper Carniola, Lower Carniola, and Inner Carniola. Steps that lead up to the fountain represent the Carniolan mountains. The water pool has a shape of a shell. In the center of the fountain stands a 10-metre (33 ft) obelisk. The sculptural part of the fountain is made of the Carrara marble, the obelisk is made of the local Lesno Brdo marble and the pool is made of the local Podpeč limestone. Source: Wikipedia

fountain-of-three-carniolan-rivers

if you’d like to join in with the fountain challenge then please pop over to Polianthus for the rules. This month she is looking for fountains featuring people or animals. I’m sure she would love to see you.

21 thoughts on “Friday Fountain Challenge: May

  1. fountains and culture eh? never been to Slovenia, but did drink a very nice Slovenian Pinot Noir today, thats as close as I have made to Slovenia (very sadly I forgot to take notes on the producer…) it seems like i will need to visit one day..thanks for the educational post!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Such a good looking city, Jude! Wish I’d gotten there in my ‘traveling days’. 🙂 🙂 You’re doing a grand job at trying to drum up trade for Poli. I’m a bit pig headed when it comes to posts these days. I only write what I want to write, so you can ramble in my direction or not. I will only sulk a modicum if you don’t. 😦

    Like

    1. I have so many fountain photos that I have been meaning to post for ever, so Poli’s challenge works for me and as I don’t have to write much it suits. Photo posts are easier, but I need to reduce the amount of images I use! [As if that is ever going to happen…]

      Like

  3. … “and just to make it a little grander, we’ll put an obelisk in the middle” 🙂

    I think the story behind the meaning of the fountain is just as interesting as the fountain itself.
    … and to think I always thought fountains were just pieces of flimsical art!

    Liked by 1 person

Likes are nice, but comments spark a conversation...

