In May I’m looking for Wild flowers

(This month I want to see native wild flowers found in the hedgerows, woodlands, farmland, meadows, by the coast, up a mountain, on the heath and even in your own garden. Basically those plants that haven’t been planted, but occur naturally, although specifically planted wild flower meadows can be included. Wild flowers provide food for humans and wildlife and are usually hardy, resilient and well adapted to the climate and soils, and yes sadly often referred to as weeds.)

Solomon’s Seal: (Polygonatum multiflorum)

P1100074

Britain has three native species. Polygonatum multiflorum (Solomon’s Seal) is the most common, being found in lowland woods containing Ash and Field maple on chalk and limestone. Polygonatum odoratum (Angular Solomon’s Seal) is a plant of limestone pavements and cracks, so it is disappearing. Polygonatum verticillatum (Whorled Solomon’s Seal) is an uncommon plant of wooded gorges and river banks, mainly in Scotland.

P1100054

Most are two feet high or so (on average) and most have arching stems with pairs of leaves giving rise to another common name Ladder in Heaven.

The flowers, which are most often ivory-white, hang downwards in clusters from the leaf joints and they are often edged in green and slightly fragrant.

If you would like to join in with Garden Photography then please take a look at my Garden Photography Page. No complicated rules 🙂

  • Create your own post and title it MayWild Flowers
  • Include a link to this page in your post so others can find it too
  • Add the tag “GardenChallenge” so everyone can find the posts easily in the WP Reader
  • Get your post in by the end of the month, as the new theme comes out on the first Sunday in June.
  • Please visit the sites in the comments to see what others are posting.
29 thoughts on “garden photography: Solomon’s Seal

  1. Good luck to you all, I hope you end up with a great collection of wonderful wildflowers, Jude!
    Wishing you a lovely Sunday. Norway is grey and very wet today, but summer is on its way.:-)
    Dina & co x

    Liked by 1 person

  2. They are ever so delicate Jude. Like Dina we are having a very gray day and snowfall warning in effect just outside the city! Happy weekend ot you and hope the sun is shining. 🙂

    Like

  3. I’d never heard of this (tssk, ignoramus!) and I don’t really recall seeing it anywhere either but when I said Solomon’s Seal Mick piped up Polygonatum from the settee, where he’s busy with a design on Sketch Up. (clever clogs! 🙂 ) We have thunder and a torrential downpour here but it was a glorious, breakfast in the garden, morning.
    I have a giggle for you. Remember I mentioned a yellow wildflower I’d found in Poland, which I thought might be an escapee from one of the gardens? This morning I was tootling about with camera in ours and what should I find? Lamium! Apparently that’s what it was and we have our very own. Whatever next? Now, I really must go and make a start on tomorrow’s walk!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I had to look up Lamium and they all see to be purple? I have all sorts of things erupting here and no idea what they are – some attractive leaves and flowers forming, but they could all be weeds! Not having had a garden for 10 years I have only dealt with hybrid plants from nurseries!

      Like

      1. Oh dear! I expect I’ll be sharing a photo of them when I find an appropriate month 🙂 Wildflower gardens are all the rage aren’t they? Be fashionable! 🙂

        Like

    1. I was quite chuffed to find this one in the woodland on Whitcliffe Common a few years ago, but it took many repeated visits to actually get a decent photo!

      Like

Likes are nice, but comments spark a conversation...

