Kiftsgate Gardens in the Cotswolds is a beautiful tranquil place, with a soft, feminine planting scheme devised over three generations of women gardeners. And I was very taken by this simple portrait fountain placed on an old stone, lichen-covered wall. Click on the link above to read more about this garden.
fountain

if you’d like to join in with the fountain challenge then please pop over to Polianthus for the rules. This month she is looking for fountains featuring people or animals. I’m sure she would love to see you.

(The header image is from the well head in the sunken garden)

31 thoughts on “Friday Fountain Challenge: May

  1. Went out fountain hunting at 5am yesterday. The one I was after was not fountaining. This one is compensation. It’s a beauty and those spears of green are a gift to the composition.

    Like

    1. 5 am? Goodness you are up early! I wake around that time as it gets light and the birds start to sing, but I just turn over and go back to sleep. Maybe I should get up and go exploring.

      Like

      1. I’m not good in the heat either and it doesn’t take much to knock me out! My garden faces west so has sun all afternoon so I need to work in the morning before it gets too hot.

        Like

      1. A rash of visitors this week. An old friend of the OH visiting Cornwall from Canada came over yesterday, the Surrey tribe arrived today and my stepdaughter and partner come in a fortnight! Gulp!

        Like

      2. There were only 6 of us at my Girl’s night last night so we had leftovers today. Just back from a 40th wedding anniversary do. Chilling the rest of the weekend. Phew! πŸ™‚

        Like

  2. I need to revisit the Cotswolds, not so far from us really. I’ve never heard of Kiftsgate gardens, sounds beautiful, really lovely. Your photo is so lovely Jude, I love the composition… fountains like this fascinate me…

    Like

Likes are nice, but comments spark a conversation...

