venus---prague-(1)

This beautiful bronze Venus fountain is in the Wallenstein Garden in Prague. Well worth a visit if you are ever in the city.  The geometric early-Baroque garden by the Wallenstein Palace was built in Italian style in 1620s.

The important Dutch sculptor Adriaen de Vries made a series of sculptures for the Wallenstein Garden in 1626. The sculptures represent figures from Greek mythology and they are valuable Mannerist works of art. These sculptures were took away as a war booty by the Swedish army in 1648 and they can still be seen in the garden of Drootningholm castle in Sweden. You can see replicas of these sculptures in the Wallenstein Garden.

The only sculpture given back to Prague is Venus with Amor and a dolphin by Benedikt Wurzelbauer from 1599. It is placed in the Prague Castle Gallery and there is a replica in the Wallenstein Garden. You can see it at the bronze fountain in front of the sala terrena.

For the life of me I can’t understand why I didn’t take a photo from the front, but I didn’t. I do have other photos of the garden though, so maybe I should write a post about it.

If you’d like to join in with the fountain challenge then please pop over to Polianthus for the rules

This month she is looking for artistic fountains. I’m sure she would love to see you.

15 thoughts on “Friday Fountain Challenge: August

    1. That is certainly why I took this particular shot, but doesn’t explain the lack of a photo from the front. Maybe I did take one but deleted it.I’ll have to have another look in the folder!

      Like

    1. Yes, the shell is lovely, and I like the composition of this one. Odd I didn’t take a photo from the front though, other than of the formal gardens.

      Like

      1. Dear Jude – what a beautiful fountain – and I have been to Prague a number of times but never been to the Wallenstein Garden, going on the list…! Happy Friday
        PS I guess you decided the back was better than the front? Fits with my hare fountain for this week (oh and she does have a nice bum)

        Liked by 1 person

Likes are nice, but comments spark a conversation...

