It’s time for another year of Festival of Leaves. This is the place to share your love for autumn and rain, for dark evenings and cups of tea, of books and all that you love during this time of the year.

~ Verena Cave

These giant leaves were growing alongside a stream in a garden – I think it could be Chinese Rhubarb Rheum palmatum a robust, herbaceous perennial that produces rich, purple/dark green foliage. In summer, it has large spikes of bright pink flowers that push up through the middle of the clumps. It is a moisture-loving plant that will make a dramatic impact in borders and bog gardens.

p9190143

This is an ornamental plant that does not offer any edible produce. Although it is related to the common garden rhubarb plant, it does not produce the same edible red stems. This plant has no edible parts and the leaves are actually poisonous if consumed, as with all varieties of rhubarb.

For those of us in the northern hemisphere it will be a long time until spring, but  if you have some autumn leaves to share, then please visit Verena’s site and join in. She’ll be very happy to see you.

(Macro Monday will be taking a break for a couple of months )

24 thoughts on “Festival of Leaves: by the waterside

  1. Hey Jude! So lovely to visit you again, it’s been too long. Lovely photograph, as always, and I’ve learnt something too – I had no idea that rhubarb leaves are poisionous. Not that it makes much difference to me as I can’t bear the stuff…that and coconut, the only two things. Although I do enjoy Thai food, but I think the blend with lemongrass and corriander disguises it! Hope all is well with you and Cornwall Jude 🙂 xxxx

    Like

    1. Hey there Sherri – so lovely to have you visiting again – I have missed you these last few months. I know they have been a roller-coaster for you and I hope things are looking up now and you are back on the memoir. I adore rhubarb, but like you not so fond of the coconut except I do like it when fresh and I also like Thai curries! I think I was put off desiccated coconut when I was a child and had a Bounty bar that must have been old – the coconut was so dry it just swelled up in my mouth and I couldn’t swallow it and I remember thinking I couldn’t breathe. Funny how some things stick with you! Cornwall is lovely today and I am almost over a rotten cold so things are getting better! Don’t like the fact that the sun now sets at 5:30 though 😦

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Ahh…thanks Jude, I’ve missed you too, it’s lovely to be back here chatting with you. Oh yes, those Bounty bars are vile, and it is the desiccated coconut I can’t bear too. We had a revolting school dessert made up of thick, soggy pastry, pink blancmange and desiccated coconut sprinkled on top. It sounds like you and I had similar bad experiences! Your Bounty experience sounds awful, no wonder you haven’t forgotten it! Ahh…it has been a lovely day today, so I can well imagine how beautiful it is down your way. Sorry to hear you’ve had a rotten cold, hope you feel better soon. Doesn’t seem possible it’s November tomorrow…! xxx

        Like

    1. I know they look like gunnera, but they aren’t as big and don’t have the prickly stems that gunnera have, I wasn’t sure what they are, but the rhubarb seems to fit. I need to see them in summer when they flower!

      Like

    1. What do you do with yours? I have a small clump which I hope is more productive next year, but I simply stew it with ginger and lemon or orange and then have it for breakfast with yoghurt. I do like a rhubarb crumble too 🙂

      Liked by 2 people

      1. I use a Nigella Lawson recipe and bake it in the oven – about ten stalks sliced up, then sprinkle with three spoons each of caster sugar and brown sugar, cinnamon, and a generous sprinkling of either vanilla or orange juice which cuts the tartness of the rhubarb. I have it with yoghurt or on my rolled oats and also with a crumble topping. Delicious.

        Like

  2. It’s certainly a gorgeous plant, Jude. We only have one tiny rhubarb plant in our garden and it’s always hidden in leaf litter from the trees. But in summer, I’ll always make a rhubarb cake out of it, only sufficient for that 😀
    This one with its huge red leaves is absolutely beautiful. Great picture, thanks for sharing! xx

    Liked by 1 person

Likes are nice, but comments spark a conversation...

