During November I want to see trees or leaves or anything found in a woodland environment

(this can include individual trees or leaves or woodland/forest views, fungi, wildlife or wildflowers – it can be of an autumnal flavour or anytime in the year, up to you)

new-forest

Four years ago I was lucky enough to visit the New Forest for my youngest son’s wedding. As it was the same time as my birthday we decided to book into a B&B for a week to allow us time to explore this beautiful natural area. In 1079 William The Conqueror came to The New Forest and named the area his ‘new hunting forest’ – 1000 years later his ‘Nova Foresta’ is one of the few places in England where the ancient landscape has remained relatively unchanged by modern day society. You will still find a mass of beautiful woodlands and heathlands as well as wildlife, such as ponies, pigs, cattle and deer roaming the land and delightful towns and villages to explore.

dscf4810

If you would like to join in with Garden Photography then please take a look at my Garden Photography Page. No complicated rules🙂

  • Create your own post and title it NovemberWoodland
  • Include a link to this page in your post so others can find it too
  • Add the tag “GardenChallenge” so everyone can find the posts easily in the WP Reader
  • Get your post in by the end of the month, as the new theme comes out on the first Sunday in December.
  • Please visit the sites in the comments to see what others are posting.
30 thoughts on “garden photography: New Forest

    1. Too touristy? We only went a couple of times when we lived in the south-east. Not much actual woodland left, more heathland I think. We quite liked it on the coast near Lymington with the views across to the IOW.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I passed through there briefly, many years ago, and I don’t have strong recollections of it but it was warm. I love your first couple of watery shots. I don’t associate that with the New Forest. Whereabouts are they?
    Reading the small print again today, I realise that I could have linked my 6 words to you. I was too busy fighting the new laptop (and losing) to think clearly. No, it was not the wine! This was before I started drinking 🙂 Working on the old one today 😦

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I liked the watery shots too, they were taken very close to where the wedding reception was held at the Rhinefield House Hotel near Brockenhurst. It is the Rhinefield Ornamental Drive.

      Like

  2. Heathland I like and forest I like and watery I like. This post takes me back to my introduction to the Cromwell days, via “Children of the New Forest”: a little book from my childhood and my beloved aunts, bound in crimson mock Morocco.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m afraid this book passed me by; having looked it up I think I would have quite enjoyed it when I was young – love history and loved anything about kids doing things for themselves.

      Like

Likes are nice, but comments spark a conversation...

