DesleyJane – a lovely arty scientist now living in Melbourne – is also a wonderful photographer and a huge macro fan. She has a new weekly challenge called “regularrandom for anyone to join in with which involves spending 5 minutes with the subject matter.

Choose a scene or an object and keep fixed on that object, and shoot for just five minutes.   You can move around the object or scene but try not to interfere with it. See what happens in that five minutes, what changes, how the light changes, what comes into the frame or leaves the frame, or what other parts of the object you can focus on or use to your advantage.

Bearing this in mind during a recent visit to a Cornish garden (Trebah) the following are my 5 minutes with snowdrops.

p2080111

Having wandered around the garden for an hour or so, I found a clump of snowdrops high enough on a bank behind a bench that I could focus on. Fortunately there was hardly a breath of wind, but the sun was behind a cloud to begin with and then came out again. Although my focus was on the flowers themselves, I did become a little distracted by the water droplets on some of them.

p2080124

All photos were taken using my Macro 60mm lens. First time out this year. There were more shots taken in the five minutes, but some were a lot less than perfect. Methinks I need to practice.

If you would like to join in then please visit DJ’s site where you will find more information and ideas about the challenge.

28 thoughts on “Five Minutes with snowdrops

  1. It really helps to find your subject on a bank doesn’t it? I had to lie flat on my tummy to photograph crocus once, the result still wasn’t perfect and I don’t think I’d try now. Snowdrops are perfection, great shots Jude,especially the last.
    I wish you wouldn’t keep tempting me with your macros, I really wanted to keep my photography simple with just my standard lens, but it cams with a zoom as well and the 60mm is enticing . . . .
    Nope, stop it G, you’re not going there 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    1. No way could I lie down now to take a photo – well I could, but I’d never get up again! Even these were difficult to get at, I was half perched on the bench. People passing must have thought me quite mad. I need to get a good zoom lens, but then I also fancy a faster prime – so much temptation!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I absolutely agreed with Jessica (Rusty Duck 🙂 ). I was wondering if a walk might be coming my way but these are lovely and DJ’s challenge is a great one for you.
    You won’t be sighing when you see my Monday walk. It’s a very English one 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Gorgeous . . . . . was one of the delights returning this weekend to England was seeing snowdrops in the garden. Too cold though for me to spend even five minutes out there, so going to enjoy looking at yours from every angle instead 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I think your snowdrops close ups are just lovely Jude…I wish I could find the time to join in with these wonderful challenges and get some practice in with my new camera. One day…one thing at a time! Meanwhile, I’ll enjoy your gorgeous photos as often as I can… 🙂 xxx

    Like

Likes are nice, but comments spark a conversation...

