I love tulips, they are my favourite flower even though they are quite short-lived. Having not planted any for the past two years I went a bit mad in the autumn and bought bags of bulbs in copper, orange, dark purple, pale pink and deep red. I finally got them planted in December filling every available pot I own plus sticking the remainder in the herb/veg beds. And then in February I noticed them already beginning to peep through the soil.

Last month the white ones at the front of the house opened, and as they age they gradually take on pink stripes, deepening all the time. Combined with them are some dark purple ones which are now beginning to show.

Since the beginning of April the copper and orange ones in the back garden have opened. All thoughts of the money I spent last September have vanished as I look out at the splash of vibrancy among the greenery and smile. Hard to believe thatΒ so much pleasure can come from a little brown bulb.

40 thoughts on “Plant Focus

    1. Never been. I was contemplating it a few years ago, but it worked out very expensive! I’m not sure a day would be enough though, the park looks huge!

      Like

      1. I’ll investigate! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ You can do it fairly cheaply with the coach companies. Know you’re not keen on ferries. How many tulips can you count in a day? πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Not keen on coaches either – I get travel sick still, though not as bad as when I was a child. Any train opportunities? And overnight stays of course…

        Like

      3. You’re hard to please πŸ™‚ Viveka has gone to Amsterdam today with the intention of doing Keukenhof. I’ll pick her brains when she gets back.

        Like

      4. Good idea! I might not be posting for a while as disaster struck this evening – my laptop’s screen died dramatically – looks as if something has burned out as it was very hot! And all my photos are on it! I do have a Surface tablet so I can still view stuff, but it could be a while before I post again. Luckily I have some posts scheduled.

        Like

      5. Oh, darn! You’ll have to read a book or summat at Easter 😦 Seriously though- you must have your photos backed up on a memory stick?
        Incidentally, not much action on Dad’s house. Not sure regarding James. 😦

        Like

      6. Not the recent ones, I usually back up once a month. I can connect to an external monitor, but given the damage on the screen I am worried it might damage the hard disk and/or motherboard.

        Like

    1. Some of them arrived whilst I was away, and then when we got back I was busy in the garden as it had overgrown so much, then Barcelona. I had to buy potting compost and it was all very last minute to get the bulbs planted, but they have certainly been worth it.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Every year I say I’m going to plant bulbs in the fall and somehow winter arrives without any planting done. They are lovely harbingers of spring and that splash of colour couldn’t be more welcome.
    I’m surprised the different colours bloomed at different times. I’m going to show my hopeless gardening knowledge here, but …. tulips do that? Or is it a location thing within the garden?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Some of the tulips are early flowering – April, and others late – May. Mine all seem to be earlier than that, the pink ones were open in March and still going strong, but they are on the north side of the house so never in full sun. The orangey ones are in full sun all day, but seem to be lasting pretty well. They open fully in the sun, then close up again at night. I have more in bud, but doubt there will be any left in flower by May!

      Like

      1. Ahhh – that answers one of my questions. I wondered if tulips would do ok on the north side of the house. I definitely need to get my act together this fall and plant some bulbs!

        Like

  2. Tulips provide such beautiful colour in spring! There is a tulip festival in our capital city Ottawa, in May. Every year I plan on attending but of yet to get there. Hopefully this year for sure!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I know that feeling, I plan to visit gardens all the time and yet somehow the days go by and I still haven’t managed it! But, I would love it if you did get to the tulip festival and write a post about it – with accompanying photos of course πŸ˜‰

      Liked by 1 person

  3. There my hubby’s favourite flower too . . . . he’s just not as organised as you though in the Autumn months so we have not planted for a few years now!! I got my daffs in so I’m happy πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I had the idea that tulips don’t really come back unless they have been planted very deep. The ones in pots probably won’t, but I may try planting them in the border that I am currently making!

      Liked by 1 person

Likes are nice, but comments spark a conversation...

