(click to enlarge to full size)

Sunset Dahlia

24 thoughts on “Macro Monday #47

  1. Dahlias remind me of my childhood. Neighbours grew them to exhibit at flower shows. My mother was always staking hers as the flower heads were too heavy. I loved to collect the snails they encouraged. This photo is spectacular. Such gorgeous colours.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Ah, now you have succinctly pointed out why I don’t grow them. Snails! And earwigs I recollect. I quite like the single smaller flowers as they attract the bees. I might attempt to grow a couple and see if they can survive the S&S onslaught 😀

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Dina. I love the colours and shapes of Dahlias, but have never grown them. There is a Dahlia farm near us in Cornwall and I hope to visit it this year to take some photographs.

      Like

  2. A beautiful photo!
    I planted a couple of dahlia’s this spring after being inspired by so many wonderful photos from different bloggers. I thought they would love the warm, sunny spot I had chosen for them, but sadly, they are barely surviving without a bloom between them 😦

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh that’s a shame. Too cold? Planted too deep? They do like warmth so maybe yours have yet to spring into life. Just tell them Jude will come round and shout at them if they don’t get a move on. 😉

      Like

      1. Thanks Jude. From the description, I have the small border type dahlias. Mine don’t look dead. They’re green … just not doing anything.
        I’ll give it a try in the fall to save the tubers and see what happens.

        Liked by 1 person

Likes are nice, but comments spark a conversation...

