garden photography: a rose garden

June is all about ‘the essence of summer’

(This month I want to see what summer means to you. Still focussing on the garden or parkland let your photographs tell me your story of summer-time wherever in the world you live. )

My first thoughts about this month’s challenge was that summer in a garden is all about scent. The long sunny days and warm evenings draw out the fragrance of scented flowers and always take me back in time to my childhood when summer was always hot and trying to sleep with the windows open was impossible while neighbours mowed their lawns and the smell of newly mown grass filled my room. I can’t replicate the fragrances on the blog so I shall seek out my favourite scented flowers this month starting with roses. Old fashioned English roses.

P8271076

P8271077

If you would like to join in with Garden Photography then please take a look at my Garden Photography Page. No complicated rules 🙂

  • Create your own post and title it JuneThe Essence of Summer
  • Include a link to this page in your post so others can find it too
  • Add the tag “GardenChallenge” so everyone can find the posts easily in the WP Reader
  • Get your post in by the end of the month, as the new theme comes out on the first Sunday in July.
  • Please visit the sites in the comments to see what others are posting.

59 thoughts on “garden photography: a rose garden

  1. Pingback: Pink Paeonies – The Essence of Summer | Enthusiastic Gardener

  2. Pingback: Thankful Thursday: Summer at Last | Momdeavor

  3. Pingback: June: The Essence of Summer – The Wandering Lens

let's get chatting...

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.