My final contribution for this month is a real bobby dazzler – The Magic Fountain of Montjuïc in Barcelona. It was built for the Universal Exhibition of 1929 by Carles Buigas.

pa210179

magic-fountain-15

My daughter and I headed out to see the fountain in action on a Friday night in October. There seemed to be hundreds of people watching, but we managed to squeeze in and get a few photographs. We didn’t hear any music though so maybe we were too early for that combination and just after 9 pm we decided to leave and find a restaurant for dinner before everyone else had the same thought.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

magic-fountain-14

It is not operating every night in the autumn and winter months so check before you  go and be prepared for crowds. However, it truly is magical.

magic-fountain-9

If you’d like to join in with the fountain challenge then please pop over to Polianthus for the rules

As this is a post equivalent to a New Year’s Eve fireworks display, I shall wish all my blogging family a

Happy New Blogging Year

and I wish you all success, happiness, health and wealth and fun throughout 2017. Is it really seventeen years since the Millennium? I crept out of the house before dawn on that morning to photograph a sunrise. Not a very interesting one I’m afraid. But I did capture seven swans a-swimming

41 thoughts on “Friday Fountain Challenge: December

    1. You can follow all three blogs by email, or simply pop into each one from the menu on any of them Meg. Travel Words is in England at the moment but I may give that a rest and do some Barcelona posts for a bit.

      Like

  1. Jude, what a spectacular fountain this one is. I was thinking of you today as we walked through Fitzroy Gardens in Melbourne. There are several nice fountains and I photographed them all. It’s just after 10 pm on New Year’s Eve here and we’re staying right in the centre of the city. We’re planning to go down to street level just before midnight to watch the fireworks which will go off on the tops of all the buildings, and then go straight back up in the elevator. Hopefully we’ll avoid the crowds. Best wishes for 2017!

    Like

    1. Happy New Year Carol! Enjoy the fireworks – I have mixed feelings about fireworks. I like seeing them, but I wish the displays were less ostentatious and the money saved was spent on building wells for clean water supplies or ending poverty. I just can’t help thinking about how many children could be fed or vaccinated instead of the money going up in flames purely to give ‘first world’ pleasure. Sorry – I don’t want to spoil your fun.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Ooooh wow – I watched this from the roof of a nearby shopping center – a bit far away to get that real dazzle – love the photos Jude, well done! I like your comment on fireworks, I have the same mixed feelings, every time I see them, I think of the old age pensioners scraping by with the supermarket special deals and others who struggle. On the other hand, if this type of tax subventioned celebration didn’t happen, then those same people might have no colour and lights in their lives either. I see it in Italy they all love their fireworks, young and old and the country as a whole isn’t doing too well. I digress and ramble, ,,,,,

    Liked by 2 people

  3. How beautiful Jude! I am not sure how we missed this gorgeous fountain when we were in Barcelona a few years back. We must have been drinking sangria somewhere!!!

    Happy New Year Jude!

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Ab Fab photos, Jude! Spellbound by the slide show. Wouldn’t this be a place to spend New Year’s Eve? I know, I know, too busy… 🙂 A girl can dream. Thanks for being a great friend, and for a super share.

    Like

    1. The best place is home Jo. A nice quiet drink, finish off the cheese and biccies and the last slice of Christmas cake… my partying days are well over, actually they never began. NYE has never been my kind of night. Cheers my dear – do you need any help with the packing 😕

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Mmm… as I remarked to Carol, I have mixed feelings about all that money going up in smoke. My son was in Dubai for Christmas, doubt he was watching Rafa though.

        Like

      2. Yes, I saw your comment and tend to agree with you, but then, there is enough money in the world to fix all the problems and then some. It’s just not in the right hands. And never will be? Depressing, isn’t it? No, I won’t be a killjoy- I’ll just enjoy the spectacle 🙂 🙂 A beautiful 2017 to you, hon!

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Now you have said that I wonder where it comes from? OK – back to Google…

      Well that was informative! Apparently a northern term, but no-one knows where bobby comes from AND there was a program called that in Australia in 1977 – probably before your time. I feel much better now… 😀

      Like

Likes are nice, but comments spark a conversation...

