Friday Fountain Challenge: December

My final contribution for this month is a real bobby dazzler – The Magic Fountain of Montjuïc in Barcelona. It was built for the Universal Exhibition of 1929 by Carles Buigas.

pa210179

magic-fountain-15

My daughter and I headed out to see the fountain in action on a Friday night in October. There seemed to be hundreds of people watching, but we managed to squeeze in and get a few photographs. We didn’t hear any music though so maybe we were too early for that combination and just after 9 pm we decided to leave and find a restaurant for dinner before everyone else had the same thought.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

magic-fountain-14

It is not operating every night in the autumn and winter months so check before you  go and be prepared for crowds. However, it truly is magical.

magic-fountain-9

If you’d like to join in with the fountain challenge then please pop over to Polianthus for the rules

As this is a post equivalent to a New Year’s Eve fireworks display, I shall wish all my blogging family a

Happy New Blogging Year

and I wish you all success, happiness, health and wealth and fun throughout 2017. Is it really seventeen years since the Millennium? I crept out of the house before dawn on that morning to photograph a sunrise. Not a very interesting one I’m afraid. But I did capture seven swans a-swimming

41 thoughts on “Friday Fountain Challenge: December

    • Now you have said that I wonder where it comes from? OK – back to Google…

      Well that was informative! Apparently a northern term, but no-one knows where bobby comes from AND there was a program called that in Australia in 1977 – probably before your time. I feel much better now… 😀

  1. I had the same reaction as you, Jude …. 17 years already!! How is that even possible?!

    Looking forward to a wonderful new year full of opportunities for adventure and fun 🙂

  2. Pingback: Fountain Challenge 46 – defunct January fountains | polianthus

  3. Pingback: Fountain Challenge 54: End of the fountain challenge – January defunct fountains | polianthus

let's get chatting...

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.