garden photography: sunflowers

July is about growing plants to eat.

(This month I’m looking at edible gardens – an allotment, herb gardens, a potager or even a single tomato plant. If you want to go bigger then why not a rice terrace in China, a field of corn in the prairies or lavender in Provence; you decide )

I think I first saw a field full of sunflowers when I was in Greece for the first time, aged 17 and three-quarters. A girl friend and I had set off to hitch-hike around Europe during the summer and I still recall seeing these flowers with their faces to the sun. I also recall the lorry driver giving us fistfuls of salted sunflower seeds to nibble on, cracking the hull with one’s teeth and spitting it out while keeping the kernel in the mouth and eating it. Not as easy as you think!

sunflower

Closer to home I photographed these lovely flowers on my daughter’s allotment – I’m not convinced they were grown for their edible seeds for humans, or for oil production, but the bees and later the birds would enjoy them.

sunflower-(2)

Sunflower seeds or kernels are commonly eaten as a snack food. Often used in bread making and baking, added to muesli and other cereals, mixed with peanut butter or even made in to sunflower butter as well as being sold as food for wild birds.

If you would like to join in with Garden Photography then please take a look at my Garden Photography Page. No complicated rules 🙂

  • Create your own post and title it JulyThe Edible Garden
  • Include a link to this page in your post so others can find it too
  • Add the tag “GardenChallenge” so everyone can find the posts easily in the WP Reader
  • Get your post in by the end of the month, as the new theme comes out on the first Sunday in August.
  • Please visit the sites in the comments to see what others are posting.

52 thoughts on “garden photography: sunflowers

  1. Just adore sunflowers and these are picture perfect. I think I will try growing some again this year. This is my last post for a while but I will still come visiting. I actually did some hitchhiking in WA in 2005. I was doing my greyhound bus trip around Aus and some places just didn’t have any bus service.Took a while for any one to stop and pick me up. I thought they maybe imagined I was a mad granny on the run!!! I’ve combined a few challenges as this is my finale… https://pommepal.wordpress.com/2016/07/15/time-for-change/

  2. Pingback: JULY: The Edible Garden | ventures in photos

  3. Pingback: Bees on Sunflower Detail | The Day After

  4. Pingback: Sunset Over the Cornfield | The Day After

  5. Pingback: Artichokes – Geriatri'x' Fotogallery

  6. Lovely sunflower photos…they are such a cheerful flower… I also love sunflower seeds, but not the mess they make cracking the husk !

let's get chatting...

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.